Of journals and gratitude journals…

Have you read about the 31 day Gratitude journal challenge? I read about this on the Associate of Personal Historians group and I find it intriguing.

The challenge is this:
Each day, from December 1st through December 31st, write down five things, people, abilities, or events for which you are grateful.

That’s it.

Just five things.

At first glance, five things every day might seem like a lot. But there is a lot more for us to be grateful for than we usually think. The smallest, insignificant things in life make the the biggest differences at times. It’s a great way of counting our blessings, and a kind of introspection as well.  A beautiful idea, and I think it’s something each one of us has to try our hand at – just to realise how lucky we are in life, just to take stock of our lives so far.

At the end of it, I have a sneaky feeling we’ll end up with more things to be grateful for than just five a day!

It’s already the 13th December, but it’s never too late to start.

It might be too personal to put it up online in a public place, so a journal might be ideal. If you already like keeping journals, this is a great idea. If not, this is a great way to start.

Starting tomorrow, I will maintain one, and periodically post updates on how this is going.

In my next post, I’ll talk about a memory journal challenge that I found interesting as well.

 

About My Life Chronicles

Passionate about personal history and writing memoirs. My Life Chronicles helps you create memoirs, biographies, Family books and more. Be it a way of paying tribute to someone you love, a way to preserve your family history, we help you create a treasure that can be passed down the generations. Custom made life books, memoirs, biographies for individuals, families and corporates!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Of journals and gratitude journals…

  1. paromeeta says:

    wow- a beautiful idea — I think I should write about the things I am grateful for in my daily blog posts – thanks a ton for sharing this idea — counting our blessings might help us in our hours of “disappointment”…

  2. Sowmya says:

    Looking forward to the memory one!

  3. Paromeeta: It’s a wonderful idea, isn’t it? Will surely help add perspective.

    Sowmya: Yes, I’ll put it up tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

